La casa de las miniaturas / The Miniaturist

£13.68

In stock (25)
Add to Wishlist

All UK & International Customers

Discount

Discount Offer

Buy any 2 products Get 5% Off 5%
Buy any 3 products Get 7% Off 7%
Buy any 4 or more products Get 10% Off 10%
Free shipping to all UK customers for orders over £20
All discounts will be automatically applied at check-out
Secure Payment

100% Secure Payment

Description

El libro en que se basa la serie de PBS. Relato vibrante de ambiciones íntimas y sueños traicionados donde la autora recrea el ambiente de Ámsterdam a finales del siglo XVII, un mundo áspero y riguroso donde los gremios burgueses se enfrentaban al fanatismo religioso y la intransigencia del poder establecido. Un día de otoño de 1686, una joven de dieciocho años llama a la puerta de una casa señorial en el barrio más acomodado de Ámsterdam. Nella Oortman se ha trasladado del campo a la ciudad para convivir con su marido, Johannes Brandt, un hombre maduro y distinguido comerciante que habita en la mansión en compañía de su hermana soltera y rodeado de fieles servidores. Como regalo de boda, Johannes obsequia a su flamante esposa un objeto muy de moda entre la gente pudiente de la época: una réplica de su propia casa en miniatura, que Nella deberá poblar con las figuras creadas por una desconocida miniaturista que ha encontrado por azar. Sin embargo, poco a poco, el amable pasatiempo se irá transformando en la clave de una serie de inquietantes revelaciones que conducirán a Nella a desenmascarar los secretos más oscuros de los actuales moradores de la casa -incluido su marido-, arrojando luz sobre los peligros que amenazan la supervivencia de su nueva familia. DESCRIPTION IN ENGLISH Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. "There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ." On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office--leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist--an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways... Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand--and fear--the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth. show more

Book details

EAN

9788498387889

Classifications

Format

Paperback

Number of pages

Weight(g)

442g

Dimensions(mm)

131 x 205 x 21mm

Publication date