Up to 10% off on Multibuys - Discount applied at checkout.

Ryefieldbooks Logo

Ryefield Books

0 Total items on my wish-list.

Up to 10% off on Multibuys

Ryefieldbooks Logo

Ryefield Books

Up to 10% off on Multibuys

Ryefieldbooks Logo

Ryefield Books

Contact Us
[email protected]
© Copyright Ryefield Books - All Right Reserved
Product Categories
My Shopping Cart
Void image

You shopping cart is empty

You may browse our offerings to locate what you're
searching for, then put it in your shopping cart.

Book cover image

The Miniaturist

(0)

In Stock (4)

£ 16.97

Description

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. "There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ." On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office--leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist--an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand--and fear--the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth. show more

Book Details
Classification:
EAN:
9780062306845
Binding:
Paperback
Weight(g):
368g
Dimensions(mm):
134 x 202 x 29g
Publication Date:
2015-06-02
Publisher:
Language:
English